As a member and/or diver respecting the Government of Quebec's scuba diving regulations, I agree to respect the following rules:

1.

I am aware that underwater activities involve risks; as my own safety and that of others is my priority, I hold a valid Certificate of qualifications in recreational scuba diving from the Government of Quebec as prescribed by law and in my possession the emergency equipment recommended for the activity.

2.

I carry out a self-assessment of my physical and mental health before any dives and I postpone my dives if my abilities are reduced for one reason or another or if I am not able to manage a possible emergency situation.

3.

I assess the environmental conditions of the practice area and I make sure that my knowledge and skills are adequate to carry out my activity safely. I have access to an experienced local guide if I need it.

4.

I respect the environment, flora and fauna in all stages of my underwater activity.

  • I throw my waste in the appropriate places and I leave the site cleaner than on my arrival.
  • I relieve myself in the appropriate places.
  • I preserve the seabed as well as the fauna by not touching them with my hands or my fins. I take measures to minimize my impact on the environment and I am aware of my role as an ambassador for the protection of the underwater environment, and I set an example (Longitude 181, Leave No Trace Canada, Project AWARE, etc.)
  • In residential areas, I respect the tranquility of residents by minimizing noise and footsteps of my presence.
  • Where access to water is forbidden, I respect the signs in order to support the steps taken collectively to give us all access, and help maintain a good reputation for divers in general.

5.

Whether on the water or not, I keep an eye out for other divers and assist them to the best of my ability if any of them need help. When diving, I make sure to stay in constant communication with my partner and respect his limits as well as mine.

6.

I am respectful in my interactions with any person I come across during my activity, whether he is another practitioner of underwater sports or not. I share the common spaces harmoniously and I take care of the sites that are lent to me in order to help maintain access to all.

7.

I also show respect to Quebec Subaquatique, FQAS-Accreditation, members, agencies and all industry professionals. I express my opinions in the appropriate places and I use the complaint form on the Quebec Underwater website if I wish to report a reprehensible or an unacceptable situation. I understand that Quebec Underwater's social media are not places of public debate or mediation and I respect the channels put in place to express my requests or opinions in a constructive manner.

I adhere to the Charter

Adhere to the Diver Charter by filling out the following form. Your name will appear on this page as a signatory. You will receive by email the official seal as well as a mailing acknowledging your commitment.

En tant que membre et/ou plongeur respectant le règlement de la plongée sous-marine du Gouvernement du Québec, je m’engage à respecter les points suivants :

1.

Je reconnais que les activités subaquatiques comportent des risques donc je mets ma sécurité et celle des autres en priorité en détenant un Certificat de qualification en plongée sous-marine récréative du Gouvernement du Québec valide et tel que prescrit par la loi et en ayant en ma possession le matériel d’urgence recommandé pour l’activité.

2.

Je réalise une auto-évaluation de ma santé physique et mentale avant toutes plongées et je reporte mes plongées si mes capacités sont diminuées pour une raison ou un autre ou si je ne suis pas en mesure de gérer une éventuelle situation d’urgence.

3.

J’évalue les conditions environnementales du lieu de pratique et je m’assure que mes connaissances et compétences sont adéquates pour mener à bien mon activité en toute sécurité. J’ai recours à un guide local expérimenté au besoin.

4.

Je respecte l’environnement, la faune et la flore dans toutes les étapes de mon activité subaquatique.

  • Je jette mes déchets aux endroits appropriés et je laisse les lieux plus propres qu’à votre arrivée.
  • Je fais mes besoins aux endroits appropriés.
  • Je préserve les fonds marins ainsi que la faune en ne touchant pas ceux-ci ni de mes mains ni de mes palmes. Je prends des mesures afin de minimiser mon impact sur l’environnement et je suis conscient de mon rôle d’ambassadeur de la protection du milieu sous-marin, et j’en donne l’exemple (Longitude 181, Sans Trace Canada, Projet AWARE, etc.)
  • Dans les zones résidentielles, je respecte la quiétude des résidents en minimisant le bruit et les traces de mon passage.
  • Je respecte les interdictions d’accès à l’eau lorsque celles-ci sont indiquées, afin d’aider aux démarches engagées collectivement pour nous donner accès à tous et pour contribuer à donner une bonne réputation aux plongeurs en général.

5.

Sous l’eau comme en surface, je garde un œil sur les autres plongeurs et prête assistance si l’un d’eux a besoin d’aide au meilleur de mes compétences. En plongée, je m’assure de demeurer en communication constante avec mon binôme et de respecter ses limites comme les miennes.

6.

Je fais preuve de respect dans mes interactions avec toute personne croisée dans mon activité, qu’il s’agisse d’un autre pratiquant d’activité subaquatique ou non. Je partage les espaces communs harmonieusement et je prends soin des lieux qui me sont prêtés afin de contribuer à en maintenir l’accès à tous.

7.

Je fais également preuve de respect envers Québec Subaquatique, FQAS-Accréditation, les membres, les agences et tous professionnels de l’industrie. J’exprime mes opinions aux endroits appropriés et j’utilise le formulaire de plainte sur le site web de Québec Subaquatique si je souhaite dénoncer un acte répréhensible ou une situation inacceptable. Je comprends que les médias sociaux de Québec Subaquatique ne sont pas des lieux de débat public ni de médiation et je respecte les canaux mis en place pour faire valoir mes demandes ou opinions, de façon constructive.

J’adhère à la Charte

Adhérez à la Charte du plongeur en remplissant le formulaire qui suit. Votre nom apparaîtra sur cette page en tant que signataire. Vous recevrez par courriel le sceau officiel attestant de votre adhésion ainsi qu’un envoi postal en guise de reconnaissance de votre engagement.